Sunday Reflection, by S. Monica Zore, OSF

21st Sunday in Ordinary Time

First Reading: Joshua 24:1-2, 15-18
Responsorial Psalm: Psalm 34:16-21
Second Reading: Ephes. 5:21-32

Gospel: John 6:60-69

 

Reflection
In the reading from Joshua we hear again the words “Decide today who you wish to serve.”  When the people responded they remembered all the gifts that the Lord had provided for them and proclaimed that they would serve the Lord.  I am reminded that I decide daily who I wish to serve.  As with any vow, baptismal, marriage, or religious, making a decision is not something that is done on a particular day and it is finished.  The daily living is the evidence of that decision.  Perhaps I should make a list of reasons why I have decided to serve the Lord and refer to it on a regular basis.

 

Jesus knows that a promise given is not the same as a promise lived.  The option to depart from our initial response is always before us.  That is why Jesus reminds us the “the words I have spoken to you are Spirit and life.”  We need to renew our choice and be strengthened daily.  It is too easy to be led astray by other messages which bombard us.  In addition to Jesus’ words, my list would keep me mindful of all that prompted my response.

 

Prayer
I need help in staying faithful to my decision to be your follower, Jesus.  Keep me mindful that you have spoken the words that are Spirit and life and that I need to continually return to them.  My speech and actions must show that I know you are the Holy One of God and there is no one else to whom I can go.  Daily you gift me with the opportunity to begin again to live my decision to follow.  May I use each day well.  Amen.

 

Monica Zore, OSF
Sisters of St. Francis, Oldenburg
One thought on “Sunday Reflection, by S. Monica Zore, OSF

  1. Monica, your statement, ” a promised given is not the same as a promise lived.” It is a good mantra for me.
    Marilynn

Leave a Reply

