Crawfish holes & plans, by S. Sharonlu Sheridan, OSF

Joseph Cornell writes for children and adults about a deeper knowledge of nature. He quotes a friend, Steve, who was leading a class of young children on a walk.

“When we got to a stream crossing, I started to show them crayfish holes, as I usually do. With a great deal of enthusiasm, I said, ‘Let’s kneel down and find out who lives in these holes along the bank.’ None of the children responded. While still kneeling, I glanced behind me and could see that they were still standing, so with even more enthusiasm I said, ‘Let’s all get down and look closely – these are crayfish houses!’ The children still didn’t respond.

“Because the children were clustered so closely and I was kneeling on the ground, I could only see the lower halves of their bodies. When I turned around and looked up I saw all the children, perfectly motionless with faces turned upward, gazing at a large owl perched on a branch just six feet above us.”

Steve laughed and said, “I’d become so used to showing children those crayfish holes, that I didn’t even notice the owl.” I learned the importance of letting go of plans and of being more receptive to what’s going on around us, –like children are. From: Listening to Nature by Joseph Cornell

An old quip says, “If you want to make God laugh, make plans.” That is not always the case, but we have all either been glad we had a plan B, or lamentably wished so.

Being ready to scrap plans is not easy. We put time and talent into our preparation, having it wiped away is painful. The Great Planner knows this but also knows what is best. Humbling as it is, we must admit God’s wisdom. Maybe we cannot take disappointments with a smile, but without rage is a good start!

Peace to All,

Sharonlu, OSF
Oldenburg Franciscan Center
Sisters of St. Francis, Oldenburg

One thought on “Crawfish holes & plans, by S. Sharonlu Sheridan, OSF

Leave a Reply

