Missing the Point, by Sharonlu Sheridan, OSF

If you have ever visited the Oldenburg Franciscan Center, you have probably passed by the door of our office. I would guess that you did not see the magnet on the doorjamb as you passed by.  I only notice it once or twice a year, and I am in and out a dozen times a week.  Check it out down below.

Even so, I am struck by its message each time I see it. Perhaps it is because I have such an attitude of ME FIRST.  I am not concerned about things others have that I do not, but ideas, MY ideas, always are the best in my eyes.

A tender nerve pops up when something I have done or said or written is negated by others.  HOW COULD THEY??? Never mind that what is proffered instead is much better, gets the job done more effectively, or says in different words what I tried to say. Why do I put myself in a position of grandeur?  Have I decided that what I want is more important than what God has in mind?  Foolish Sharonlu!  Follow the advice on the office magnet.  Not every message from God is in the Scriptures.  Sometimes it is a simple statement from an unknown writer, or a remark from a co-worker, or perhaps an insight from something in nature, like the beaver or the ant who go about their work no matter what.

You have heard the saying, “God takes care of children and fools.”  I do not qualify for the children category any more, but as for being a fool, I qualify very often. Thank you Lord for my rescue by means of a simple office magnet.

Watch yourself! Let the work of God take precedence over anything you want to do.  It is the only way to Joy! May God grant you insights, and may your eyes be wide open to catch them.

Peace,
Sharonlu OSF
Oldenburg Franciscan Center
Sisters of St. Francis, Oldenburg

4 thoughts on “Missing the Point, by Sharonlu Sheridan, OSF

  1. Reblogged this on Caddo Veil and commented:
    Oh, this one was written for me–yeah, boy!!! And, just in case I’m not the only one–I’m sharing it! God bless y’all BIG–love, sis Caddo

  2. Oh I am LOVING this!! I need to type it out in a large font and tape it where I cannot miss it! Thank you–and God bless you abundantly. love, sis Caddo PS–I had to reblog it on CV!

  3. ” Let the work of God take precedence over anything you want to do. It is the only way to Joy!”

    I thank you for the reminder. I believe this. I do. A fellow blogger posted about a Did List instead of a Do List based on this very principle. In AA, we ask ‘what’s the next right thing?’ and that gives us the direction for each decision as long as we’re asking Him, not ourselves!

  4. I had to come back and tell you that TODAY I had opportunity to put this lesson into practice!! And believe it or not, I didn’t have to refer to your post–it actually stayed in my head–Now THAT is a Miracle!!! Thank you so much, and God bless you abundantly–love, sis Caddo

Leave a Reply

