Sunday Reflection, by S. Elna Stemann, OSF

Reflection for November 4, 2012 –
31st Sunday in Ordinary Time
First Reading: Dt 6:2-6
Psalm: 18:2-4, 47, 51
Second Reading: Hebrews 7:23-28
Gospel: Mark 12:28-

REFLECTION:
A few years ago at one of our Community gatherings, it was suggested that we find a partner and frequently ask of her/him, “How is your heart?” If Jesus asked that question of you or me what would be our answer: is it content? Joy filled? Prayerful? Is it saddened, discouraged, weighed down with worries and concerns? No doubt we would admit to having some of each bit in our hearts.Perhaps we should ask of ourselves “Where is my heart?” If it is truly centered on Jesus, then it is in the right place and we will be the loving, trusting, caring people “of heart” that we are called to be. Contentment, trust and joy will find their home and peace will be our blessing.

PRAYER:
Jesus, I desire to love you with my whole heart, soul and mind, but it is divided by daily cares, obligations and the needs of others. Widen my heart and fill it with your love; then the cares and works of my day will be filled with your compassion and love. May I love you as you love. May I love my neighbors as you do. May I love myself as you do. Amen.

S. Elna Stemann, OSF
Sisters of St. Francis, Oldenburg

One thought on “Sunday Reflection, by S. Elna Stemann, OSF

Leave a Reply

