Sunday Reflection, by S. Kate Holohan, OSF

Reflection for January 27, 2013
Third Sunday in Ordinary Time

First Reading: Neh. 8:2-4a, 5-6, 8-10
Second Reading: 1Cor. 12:12-30
Gospel: Luke 1:1-4; 4:14-21

Reflection
      Many words are used in today’s Gospel to tell us individually, “You are the Body of Christ”!  This ancient, but ever new, Good News is astounding in its total truth and simplicity.  Do we believe that it is spoken to each one of us?  Is my faith deep enough to say, “I am the Body of Christ”?  We are the holy ground called by Baptism to “BE” Christ for the world today.  Theresa of Avila, in her writings reminds us that Christ has no body now on earth but ours.  Again, let me repeat–you and I are the People of God called to Be the love and caring of Christ Jesus present today for one another and for all in the Universe.  We have been called by name to be the holy ground through whom Jesus, the Christ, can free the oppressed and give sight to the blind.  The gifts of the Holy Spirit, given to us at Baptism are ours to put into action what each of us has to offer for the building of the Kingdom of God.  Our believing that “I am the body of Christ” and giving my ‘let it be’ allows God to do so much more  (with my gifts) than I can ever imagine.  The Spirit of the Living God will bring about the kingdom of love and peace to our Global Universal Family.  Believe also what Nehemiah and Ezra had to say to us, “Do not be saddened this day, for rejoicing in the Lord must be your strength!”
Prayer
     Gracious God, deepen my belief in your Word to me today.  Help me to realize that I have been given gifts that Christ can use to bring about your Kingdom here on Earth. Direct my actions according to your good pleasure, that in the name of your beloved Son I may do good works.  Keep me aware that “I am the holy ground” graced at Baptism for Jesus to be present with his loving, his caring and his peaces for our Global Family.  I pray in Jesus’ name.  Amen.
Kate Holohan, OSF
Sisters of St. Francis, Oldenburg
St. Teresa of Ávila
Leave a Reply

