Reflection for the 3rd Sunday in Lent, by S. Pat Bietsch, OSF

Moses and the Burning Bush (Source: Wiki-Commons)

First Reading: Ex. 3:1-8a, 13-15

Second Reading: 1Cor. 10:1-6, 10-12
Gospel: Luke 13:1-9

Reflection

Moses listened!  If he had not listened he would have ended up being a shepherd the rest of his life, living far away from Egypt.  When we listen and obey we can hear the great “I AM.”  What do you hear when you listen?  Do you hear discernment in your life choices?  Do you hear hope to move forward?  Do you listen to the mercy and compassion for your defects?  “I AM” is always there to remind us that we walk on sacred ground when we listen.  Open your heart and ears and hear the Word.
Prayer
Humbly I come before you O great I AM, please open my ears to hear your word and go forward in your love and mercy.  Never let me get so hardened or hopeless that I miss your presence in my life.  Hear my prayer that I may bring forth your fruit of love and compassion to others.

S. Pat Bietsch, OSF
Sisters of St. Francis, Oldenburg

Leave a Reply

