Sunday Reflection for the 12th Sunday in Ordinary Time, by S. Maureen Irvin, OSF

Reflection for June 23, 2013
Twelfth Sunday in Ordinary Time

First Reading: Zec. 12:10-11, 13:1
Second Reading: Gal. 3:26-29

Gospel: Luke 9:18-24
Reflection
Language is very powerful.  Names, nicknames, descriptions of people and categories we put them in can be very affirming or very hurtful.  Today’s second reading reminds us that we are really all the same in God’s eyes.  “There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free person, there is not male or female…”  All persons are infinitely valuable and unconditionally loved by God.  Do the words I use to describe or categorize people reflect this truth?  Am I ever deliberately hurtful with my words?
In the Gospel, Jesus asks Peter, “Who do you say that I am?”  Who do I say that Jesus is?  Do I call him model, prophet, savior, Christ, brother, teacher, Good Shepherd, friend, Lord?  When I refer to him in this way, what do I really mean?  What is my relationship with Jesus?  What would I like it to be?
Prayer
Jesus, over the years I have called you by many names.  May my relationship with you continue to grow and develop, as I search the Gospels for clues as to who you really are and who you want to be in my life.  Show me how to see your presence in everyone I meet, so that I may treat them with the respect and dignity that they deserve as Children of God.  Help me to imitate the many qualities you modeled for us as you showed us how to live.  Amen.

Maureen Irvin, OSF
Sisters of St. Francis, Oldenburg
Leave a Reply

