Sunday Reflection, by OSF Associate Josephine Cleveland

Reflection for June 30, 2013
Thirteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

First Reading: 1Kings 19:16, 19-21
Second Reading: Gal. 5:1, 13-18

Gospel: Luke 9:51-62
Reflection
Through the scriptures of today we see the same message being expressed; our Lord wants us to follow him.  In the first reading Elisha leaves his life behind and follows Elijah in order to promote the glory of God.  In today’s Gospel Jesus again expresses the importance of being true disciples of his.  Jesus tells us in order to be a true disciple of Christ we must show love and forgiveness towards one another.  This is what He did by dying on the cross for our sins.
Prayer
Jesus, I wish to live my life in your glory.  Give me the grace to see the needs of others.  When someone needs a kind word or a listening ear, I will be there.  When I feel I have been wronged, show me a spirit of humility so I may be forgiving.  In your name Lord Jesus Christ.

Josephine Cleveland, Associate
Sisters of St. Francis, Oldenburg
Leave a Reply

