Sunday Reflection, by Carol Ann Morrow, Associate

Reflection for August 11, 2013
Nineteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

First Reading: Wisdom 18:6-9
Second Reading: Hebrews 11:1-2, 8-19

Gospel: Luke 12:32-48
Reflection
The author of Hebrews offers us a refrain for today and for many days ahead.  “By faith,” he says–and reminds us of Abraham’s long, long journey into the desert, into fatherhood and into startling sacrifice.  What choices have I made by faith?  Have I taken any perilous paths because I believe that God has a plan for my journey?  Have I stayed the course?  Faith is our north star, our compass.  At least, the author of Hebrews suggests that it should be.  What will I do today–by faith?
Prayer
Loving God, I thank you for the gift of faith.  Help me see the thread of faith in my life journey, the ways in which belief in you has shaped by life choices.  Help me see where it has not–and to choose the path you offer me today.  I wish to light my lamp, like the servant in today’s Gospel, so I will see the way and always be ready to greet you in my life–and in my dying.  I pray to be faithful and fruitful, as our father Abraham was.  May I live by faith and die a believer.  In Jesus’ name, I pray. Amen.
Carol Ann Morrow, Associate
Leave a Reply

