Reflection for the Third Sunday of Advent, by S. Patty Campbell, OSF

3candlesFirst Reading: Isaiah 35: 1-6a
Second Reading: James 5: 7-10
Gospel: Matthew 11: 2-11

Reflection
Advent–the season in which we anticipate the coming of God as one of us–Jesus the Christ.  All three Scripture readings for today enunciate clearly our need to be paying attention.  Isaiah claims our eyes will be opened.  James calls us to patience with ourselves as we pay attention.  And Matthew has Jesus asking the question: “What do you go out to see?”  I believe the first person I need to see is myself as I go forth.  Do others find in me the God who loves them, accepts them, listens to them?  Who is the God in me who waits for me to be for others the Jesus who we wait for this Advent season?
Prayer
Holy Spirit, enlighten the darkness of my soul so that I may get new insights into who I am for myself and others.  Teach me to be open to God’s call in me, and to go forth each day as Jesus did.  Help me listen to your message that day, and accept others as you do with love and compassion.  Amen.
Patty Campbell, OSF
Leave a Reply

