Reflection for the Fourth Sunday of Advent, by S. Therese Tackett, OSF

4thSundayAdventFirst Reading: Isaiah 17: 18
Second Reading: Romans 1: 1-7

Gospel: Matthew 1: 18-24


Reflection
As we approach the celebration of Jesus coming into the world, the readings are filled with the urgent theme of the reality of what happened over 2000 years ago.  God came into our world in the human form of a small baby.  He came to live in our reality and grow up in it.


In all three readings we hear the words “God is with us.”  God is still in our world in each one of us.  How does my life show God to the world around me?  How is God present to me?  How can I better reflect God to those around me, and to those with whom I live or those with whom I work?  How can I reflect the Compassionate Love that God sent into this world in the form of the small infant Jesus?


Prayer
Emmanuel, please guide us to imitate your Son’s love in all that we do each day.  Amen.


Therese Tackett, OSF
Sisters of St. Francis, Oldenburg
Leave a Reply

