Reflection for the 8th Sunday in Ordinary Time, by S. Marian Boberschmidt, OSF

handFirst Reading: Is 49:14-15
Second Reading: 1 Corinthians 4:1-5

Gospel: Matthew 6:24-34


Reflection
In his classic New Jerusalem Biblical Commentary article the late Carroll Stuhlmueller called today’s first reading “one of the most touching expressions of divine love in the entire Bible.”  But Zion said, “Yahweh has forsaken me; my Lord has forgotten me.”  “Can a mother forget her infant; be without tenderness for the child of her womb?  Even should she forget, I will never forget.  See, upon the palms of my hands I have written your name.”
On occasion mothers who are extremely poor, having little or no food, lodging or security for their child, feel forced or are forced to give their child away and they cry out in love, “I will never forget you.”  Set aside all anxiety and worry, say to yourself, “God is with me.”  Whisper to yourself, with you, my God, I know that “all will be O.K., all will be well.  I will trust.  I will wait.”  Anxiety blends within the midst of my loving.  Life’s true mystery is recognized as Divine Love alive and well in my heart.


Prayer
May we be servants and lovers of Jesus and stewards of the mysteries of God even when we don’t feel all our needs are being met.  All will be O.K. in the midst of our life experiences if we believe and trust God’s word on it.
Marian Boberschmidt, OSF
