Reflection for the Second Sunday of Lent, by S. Lorraine Geis, OSF

2ndSundayFirst Reading: Genesis 12:1-4a
Responsorial Psalm: Ps 33:4-5, 18-20, 22
Second Reading: 2 Timothy 1:8b-10
Gospel: Matthew 17:1-9

Reflection
Is this MY Transfiguration Day?

How much time, every day, do I spend remembering news that was said to me, or about me!  Many thoughts, during the course of the day, find me remembering what was said on TV, or from friends by phone, Skype or cell phone.  How does that remembering time compare to remembering the Word of God, spoken directly, personally, to me?

In the Reading of Genesis, God says, “Go forth (put your name), to a land that I will show you.”  Already, my daily schedule is planned for me by my Creator God!  All I have to do is follow.

My name appears again, at the beginning of Timothy: “(put your name), bear your share of hardships for the Gospel.”  The needed strength, to be transfigured by these words, come from God.

Matthew’s descriptive Gospel, also, includes me!  “Jesus took (put your name) up a high mountain.”  Where is it that Jesus takes me so we can be alone?  Then, how often do I proclaim “Lord, it is good for me, (put your name), to be here.”  Jesus touches me and says “Go, (put your name), and do not be afraid.”

Prayer
Thanks, God, for the invitation and grace to be transfigured. Thanks for calling me by name. Lord, it is good to be with You.

S. Lorraine Geis, OSF
Sisters of St. Francis, Oldenburg

Leave a Reply

