My Dark Night

My heart sinks. Oh dark night!
You have come to scare me
In this lonely path…

I fall short in each step
How mistaken was I to walk
In this silent night…

I agonize with each beat of my heart
Each breath I take
Brings pain to today…

Where has your magnificent smile gone?
I remembered the sun
That brought me warmth and light…

But that is now a memory!
This night won’t pass
Here I am, falling again…

Cold and lonely
Deceived in the shadows
That hide your truth at this dark hour…

Take my life!
End this misery!
I lament in each second that passes by…

Have pity on me…
A sinner!
Send the moon and the stars
To keep me company
In this desolate night!

By JA

One thought on “My Dark Night

  1. Yes, sometimes we feel like this. The psalmist, too, wrote these feelings. Our souls are despairing; our bodies are weak. We are like the Jews of old during the Babylonian exile: our God has been stripped from us, we cannot sing a our song of our God “in a foreign land.” Oh, Godde, come to us anew. Give us new eyes to see you hidden within. Give us a new song to sing. Let your love and creativity blossom within us.

Leave a comment